Accessori: la borsa dell’esercito svizzero per le mie XE-1

Sono – ma forse dovrei dire siamo – sempre alla ricerca dell’accessorio giusto per le nostre fotocamere: c’è sempre un tappetino di feticismo nel modo in cui viviamo la nostra passione. Ebbene, oggi vi racconto la storia di questa borsetta. Una ex borsa dell’esercito svizzero trovata per caso in un mercatino e trasformata in una vera borsa per attrezzatura fotografica. Nel mio caso, perfetta per le piccole Fuji XE-1

Stiamo parlando di una robustissima borsa di tela e cuoio di 29 cm di larghezza, 24 di altezza e 10 centimetri di spessore, corredata di cinghia a tracolla di cuoio, maniglia estraibile superiore e chiusura di sicurezza, anch’essa di cuoio. L’ho acquistata a Novegro (un polo fieristico alle porte di Milano), durante uno dei tanti mercatini di cose vecchie in calendario, per 27 euro (trattare con gli svizzeri non è divertente…). Lì per lì non potevo immaginare che l’inserto Domke che avevo acquistato molti mesi prima potesse essere calzato a perfezione. E invece sembra fatto apposta. Guardate qui sotto.

E questo è l’inserto. L’avevo comperato on line nel noto negozio di New York, B&H, per circa una ventina di euro. Non saprei dove trovarlo in Italia, anche se sono sicuro che qualsiasi sarto sia in grado di realizzarne uno identico.

Quant’è capiente? Beh, io riesco a farci stare due Fuji XE-1 (una con il 18mm montato), tre obiettivi – il 35/1.4, il 14/2.8 e il fisheye Samyang – più qualche batteria, le schede di memoria, un filtro… Resta un po’ di spazio per qualche altro piccolo accessorio. Da sola, la borsa completa di imbottitura pesa 1.160 grammi, neppure molto se pensiamo che è praticamente indistruttibile. Per avere un riferimento, una Billingham Hadley Small – che ha pressoché la stessa capienza – pesa 782 grammi.

Nome: Borsa dell’esercito svizzero (se avete un’idea migliore, fatevi avanti)
Dimensioni: 29 x 24 x 10 cm
Peso: 1.160 g
Materiale: tela e cuoio
Accessori: inserto Domke FA-230 a tre scomparti

24 thoughts

  1. Hi, very nice bag!
    In fact, I liked it so much that I bought one as well. I found a german dealer on Ebay that sell those bags with shoulder strap – I just cannot find a seller for the DOMKE insert.
    It seems that it is not sold anymore.

    Anyway, do you mind writing your articles in english. That way you get more people to read them – and you the chance to practise your English writing skills. :-)

    Keep it coming,

    Michael

    • Hi Michael! First of all, thank you. I’m glad you liked my bag. I got the Domke insert from BHPhoto, in New York. And about writing in English, well, I can not promise anything, but I’ll try to. Ciao from Italy and thanks again.

    • Hey Michael,

      Could you tell me the name of the german dealer you found on ebay please?
      I would love to buy this bag too it looks pretty hard to find…

      Thanks!

      • Hi Stephane,
        This is the dealer I bought the bag from:

        http://r.ebay.com/gi2PDv

        Could you do me a favor?
        If you happen to find a dealer that sells those DOMKE FA-230 inserts, would you post me (in case you plan to buy an insert for this bag)?
        Or if you find any suitable alternatives of similar size, as well?

        I struggle with finding an insert right now – it seems its unavailable at the moment.

        Thanks in advance,
        /Michael

    • Hey there I am so delighted I found your blog page, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Bing for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the awesome jo.

  2. Hi Michael!

    Thanks for the link, but a tad too late I am afraid… I already bought one from a french website, without the shoulder strap though. Have to make my own :/.
    For the insert you can buy from this dealer:

    http://www.adorama.com/DMFA230.html

    I dunno if they do international shipping though…

  3. Woopsy, sorry the item is in back ordered too…
    Well, you can do that then:

    http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/16063-REG/Domke_720_220_FA_220_Insert.html

    You buy 2 of those, and that would fit in your bag at roughly the same size as the DOMKE FA-230, just 1 inch longer, or 2 cm something. I already have those inserts at home and I should receive my bag tomorrow (may the 9th) so I can give you a quick feedback if it would fit or not.

    Thanks,
    Stephane

    • That would be great – maybe with a small picture :-)
      If that fits, I will go with this solution instead.

      Good luck making your own strap. Kinda curious how it works out. Maybe you can make a small documentation on your blog – if you have one :-)

  4. Well… So far, it is a bit tight to fit 2 of those DOMKE FA-220, unless you get rid of the 2 inner side protective foams . But it isn’t the best solution overall I am afraid :/.
    Just have to wait for the DOMKE FA-230 to be back on order…
    Sorry!

  5. Hey Michael,

    I found a solution that works great, but you have to be quick.
    You can use a FA-220, and a FA-280. There is one on ebay right now, here is the link.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Domke-FA-280-1-Compartment-Mini-Insert-New-/370813515054?pt=US_Camera_Cases_Bags&hash=item565635352e

    The combo fits perfectly in the bag, and it leaves a bigger space for the camera on the 220 so it would easily fit a fuji x-pro and the 35mm or 60mm (I fit my leica M9 and VC 35mm 1.2 easily), and you can stack 2-3 lenses on the 220. Problem solved!

  6. Hi Stephane,
    Thank you so much for this link.
    I just ordered it together with the FA-220, which I got used and so less expensive on Amazon.

    Meanwhile, my bag arrived, but since it is an old used product there came this strange smell with it.

    So I hang it up in our garage to get rid of that smell.

    I am curious how this works out.

    How is your shoulder strap developing?

    /Michael

  7. Hey Michael,

    Sorry for that late answer…
    I actually ordered one from the ebay link you have sent me at the end :). It tooks 2 weeks to arrive, and as yours, it smells pretty vintage ish! I tested how waterproof the bag was, and it is pretty impressive how the canvas can resist to the water, for sure this bag will last long!
    The strap was included, I just wish it was a bit older leather than that though. Oh well, I will age it myself…
    Other than that, I really enjoy the bag. Hope you do too Michael!

    • Yes, I found a “workaround” for the DOMKE FA-230 insert.
      I am using the FA-220 and FA-280 inserts instead. They are like a 2/3 and 1/3 split of the FA-230 with the same depth.

      Glad you finally have your bag. Funny, I wish my bag had a little newer leather :-)

      Do you have an idea how to get rid of that “vintage” smell?
      The fresh garage smell didn`t help much :-(

Rispondi

Iscriviti

Ricevi al tuo indirizzo email tutti i nuovi post del sito.